EYFS / Development Matters / Learning Story

What are they? A brief explanation:

EYFS: There are seven areas of learning and development in the Early Years Foundation Stage that must shape educational programmes in early year’s settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three  PRIME AREAS, are:

  1. Communication and language;
  2. Physical development; and
  3. Personal, social and emotional development.

Providers must also support children in FOUR SPECIFIC AREAS, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  1. Literacy;
  2. Mathematics;
  3. Understanding the world;
  4. Expressive arts and design.

Every Child Matters: And the five Outcomes below, this is about the well-being of children and young people. Whatever a child’s background or their circumstances, they will have the support they need to:

Be healthy

Stay safe

Enjoy and achieve

Make a positive contribution

Achieve economic well-being

Characteristics of learning:

Playing and exploring (engagement) – observing how children engage with their learning.

Active Learning (motivation) – observing how children are motivated to learn.

Creating and thinking critically (thinking)– observing how children are thinking.

Learning Story / Journey

This is a record of your child’s development journey at this setting and all children start them on the day they start this setting.

Our aim is to provide these services by sharing information and working together, to protect children and young people from harm and help them achieve what they want in life. Children and young people will have far more say about issues that affect them as individuals and collectively and It is important to remember every individual is unique.